top of page

Bio

The route is the goal

Hello everyone,

I am a German TAIKOArtist and martial arts teacher from Korschenbroich (Düsseldorf, NRW). In my home town I run the small taiko school SANDAIKO and teach KARATE and KICKBOXING in the DOJO SANDOKAN.

​My roots are clearly in the field of martial arts, because at the age of 3 my father took me to the dojo. Throughout my life, karate training was part of my everyday life and purpose in life, so that I became a karate teacher myself. Since my youth I have been teaching all age groups and levels of ability, and I have even been able to accompany a handful of students to the black belt.

In 2003 my father discovered TAIKO drumming for himself and after learning the basics of playing taiko with various groups, he finally founded his own taiko group SANDAIKO. As a son, I was of course a participant from the very beginning, but surprisingly I wasn't as enthusiastic as my father. But this changed abruptly when he gave me the management of the group after the opening of the dance school DANCE4ART in 2010. Over time, I changed the direction (focus) of the taiko school according to my own interests and began to write pieces myself (including USAGI and KABUKI).

Formative for my style were a workshop with KAOLY ASANO, leader of the group GOCOO, my time with the "first taiko group in Germany" TENTEKKO under the direction of MONIKA BAUMGARTL, my cooperation with SILKE HANZEN, the community events all over Germany (TAIKO SESSIONS) and finally the mindopener event TAIKOPALOOZA, organized by RAZZ PURCELL, with taiko artists from all over the world like KENNY ENDO, SHOJI KAMEDA, YUTA KATO and MARTIN DOYLE.

 

Since 2022 I decided to focus more on my main disciplines TAIKO & KARATE and handed over the management of the DANCE4ART dance school and the FITFAM gym to my brother.

credentials

  • Participant in "Cash for art" Düsseldorf (1st place/2nd place)

  • TaikoDuo & Friends concerts in Belgium & Germany

  • several performances as a guest player in Berlin with the group iki-iki Taiko

  • Tour at Club Robinson in Amade & Zürs (Austria)

  • Appearance on the KWON stage of the FIBO Exhibiton

  • Participants in Germany next Showstars (until semi-finals) broadcast on Pro7

  • ​over 100 smaller appearances at city festivals (Kaarst Total), company celebrations (Okinii) and private birthdays

Benni Privat T-Shirt_edited.jpg
Cajon Fail with train_1.gif
Benni & Father Karate_edited_edited.jpg
Referenzen
bottom of page

top of page

Bio

Der Weg ist das Ziel

Hallo zusammen,

ich bin ein deutscher TAIKO Künstler und Kampfkunst Lehrer aus Korschenbroich (Düsseldorf, NRW). In meiner Heimat betreibe ich die kleine Taikoschule SANDAIKO und unterrichte KARATE und KICKBOXEN im DOJO SANDOKAN.

​Meine Wurzeln liegen dabei ganz klar im Kampfkunstbereich, denn schon im Alter von 3 Jahren nahm mein Vater mich mit ins Dojo. Das Karatetraining gehörte, Zeit meines Lebens, zu meinem Alltag und Lebensinhalt, sodass ich schließlich selbst Karatelehrer wurde. Seit meiner Jugend unterrichte ich durchweg alle Altersklassen und Leistungstufen, eine Handvoll Schüler durfte ich dabei sogar schon bis zum schwarzen Gurt begleiten.

2003 entdeckte mein Vater das TAIKO Trommeln für sich und nachdem er bei verschieden Gruppen die Grundlagen des Taikospielens erlernte, gründete er schließlich seine eigene Taikogruppe SANDAIKO. Als Sohn war ich natürlich Teilnehmer der ersten Stunde, war aber überraschenderweise nicht direkt so Feuer und Flamme wie mein Vater. Dies änderte sich aber schlagartig als er mir nach Eröffnung der Tanzschule DANCE4ART 2010 die Leitung der Gruppe übertrug. Mit der Zeit veränderte ich die Ausrichtung (Fokus) der Taikoschule nach meinen eigenen Interessen und fing an selbst Stücke (u.a. USAGI und KABUKI) zu schreiben.

Prägend für meinen Stil waren/sind, ein Workshop bei KAOLY ASANO, Leiterin der Gruppe GOCOO, meine Zeit bei der "ersten Taikogruppe Deutschlands" TENTEKKO unter der Leitung von MONIKA BAUMGARTL, meine Zusammenarbeit mit SILKE HANZEN, die in ganz Deutschland Community Events (TAIKO SESSIONS) organisert und schließlich das Mindopener Event TAIKOPALOOZA, organisiert von RAZZ PURCELL, mit Taiko Künstlern aus der ganzen Welt wie KENNY ENDO, SHOJI KAMEDA, YUTA KATO und MARTIN DOYLE.

 

Seit 2022 entschied ich mich vermehrt auf meine Hauptdisziplinen TAIKO & KARATE zu fokusieren und habe die Firmenleitung der DANCE4ART Tanzschule und des FITFAM Fitnessstudios an meinen Bruder übergeben.

Referenzen

  • Teilnehmer bei Kunst gegen Bares Düsseldorf (1. Platz/2.Platz)

  • TaikoDuo & Friends Konzerte in Belgien & Deutschland

  • mehrere Auftritte als Gastspieler in Berlin mit der Gruppe iki-iki Taiko

  • Tournee im Club Robinson in Amade & Zürs (Österreich)

  • Auftritt auf der KWON Bühne der Messe FIBO

  • Teilnehmer bei Germany next Showstars (bis Halbfinale) ausgestrahlt auf Pro7

  • ​über 100 kleinere Auftritte bei Stadtfesten (Kaarst Total), Firmenfeiern (Okinii) und privaten Geburtstagen

_edited.jpg
Cajon Fail with train_1.gif
Benni & Vater Karate_edited_edited.jpg
Referenzen
bottom of page